Academic Calendar

The Master of Science program runs for 11 months from September to July. Students complete all coursework and capstone research during this period. Please note that the program dates differ from the UCSF academic calendar published by the Office of the Registrar.

2018 Fall Quarter

Wed, Sept 5

Orientation at Parnassus

Thu, Sept 6

Orientation at Mission Bay

Mon, Sept 10

First day of classes

Mon, Nov 12

UCSF Holiday (Veteran’s Day)

Thu, Nov 22 – Fri, Nov 23

UCSF Holiday (Thanksgiving)

Fri, Nov 30

Last day of classes

Fri, Dec 7

Last day of final exam period

2019 Winter Quarter

Tue, Jan 1

New Year’s Holiday

Wed, Jan 2

First day of classes

Mon, Jan 21

UCSF Holiday (Martin Luther King Day)

TBD

Interview day for 2019-20 admissions

Mon, Feb 18

UCSF Holiday (Presidents Day)

Wed, Feb 27 & Fri, Mar 1

Qualifying Exams (oral capstone presentations)

Fri, Mar 8

Last day of classes and end of the quarter

Mon, Mar 11 – Sun, Mar 17

Spring Break

2019 Spring Quarter

Mon, Mar 18

First day of classes

TBD

Interview day for 2019-20 admissions

Fri, Mar 29

UCSF Holiday (Cesar Chavez Day)

Fri, Apr 19

Last day of classes

Mon, Apr 22

GHS 209 Final Exam

Tue, Apr 23 – Fri, May 24

First half of capstone period

2019 Summer Quarter

Mon, May 27

UCSF Holiday (Memorial Day)

Tue, May 28 – Fri, June 28

Second half of capstone period

Mon, July 1

First day of classes

Thu, July 4

UCSF Holiday (Fourth of July)

Mon, July 22 – Tue, July 23

Comprehensive Exams (oral capstone presentations)

Wed, July 24 – Thurs, July 25

Exit interviews

Fri, July 26

Graduation