Academic Calendar

The Master of Science program runs for 11 months from September to July. Students complete all coursework and capstone research during this period. Please note that the program dates differ from the UCSF academic calendar published by the Office of the Registrar.

2019 Fall Quarter

Wed-Thur, Sept 4-5

Orientation at Mission Bay

Mon, Sept 9

First day of classes

Mon, Nov 11

UCSF holiday (Veteran’s Day)

Wed, Nov 27

Last day of classes

Thu, Nov 28 – Fri, Nov 29

UCSF holiday (Thanksgiving)

Mon, Dec 2 - Fri, Dec 6

Final exam week

2020 Winter Quarter

Wed, Jan 1

New Year’s holiday

Mon, Jan 6

First day of classes

Mon, Jan 20

UCSF holiday (Martin Luther King Day)

Mon, Feb 17

UCSF holiday (Presidents Day)

Thur, Mar 5 - Fri, Mar 6

Qualifying exams (capstone presentations)

Fri, Mar 13

Last day of classes and end of the quarter

Mon, Mar 16 – Sun, Mar 22

Spring break

2020 Spring Quarter

Mon, Mar 23

First day of classes

Fri, Mar 27

UCSF holiday (Cesar Chavez Day)

Fri, Apr 24

Last day of classes and end of the quarter

Tue, Apr 27 – Fri, May 29

First half of capstone period

Mon, May 25

UCSF holiday (Memorial Day)

2020 Summer Quarter

Mon, June 1 – Fri, July 3

Second half of capstone period

Mon, July 6

First day of classes

Mon, July 27 - Tue, July 28

Comprehensive exams (capstone presentations)

Thur, July 30

Graduation